INSPECC Pros now offers Lead Dust Testing. We can Issue a Lead Safe Certificate to comply with Pennsylvania Bill No. 180936-A
Lead dust testing inspections for residential and commercial properties have become a common occurrence to safe guard the health and well-being of occupants. These inspections are a small price to pay for protecting people from the irreversible threat that comes from lead poisoning.
The main danger from lead comes from the ingestion of paint chips and inhalation of dust containing lead. According to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) there are an estimated 1/2 million children in the U.S. that have blood levels of lead high enough to cause irreversible damage to their health.
If your home was built before 1978, it is more likely to have lead-based paint. In 1978, the federal government banned consumer uses of lead-based paint, but some states banned it even earlier.
Lead-based paint is still present in millions of homes, normally under layers of newer paint. If the paint is in good shape, the lead-based paint is usually not a problem. Deteriorating lead-based paint (peeling, chipping, chalking, cracking, damaged, or damp) is a hazard and needs immediate attention.
Lead-based paint may also be a hazard when found on surfaces that children can chew or that get a lot of wear-and-tear, such as:
- Windows and window sills;
- Doors and door frames; and
- Stairs, railings, banisters, and porches.
About New Jersey Bill NJ S1147
On July 22, 2021 Governor Murphy signed a bill NJ S1147. This bill requires a lead dust testing inspection be performed on residential properties built before 1978, upon tenant turnover.
If the municipality or permanent local agency determines that a property owner has failed to comply with a provision of P.L.2021, c.182 (C.52:27D-437.16 et al.) with the respect to a rental dwelling unit owned by a property owner, the property owner shall be given 30 days to cure any violation by conducting the required inspection or initiate any required remediation efforts. If the property owner has not cured the violation after 30 days, the property owner shall be subject to a penalty not exceeding $1,000 per week until the required inspection has been conducted or remediation efforts have been initiated.